Jones – Last Post

Graphics 217/218. Oh, boy. Where do I start? Well, I’ve been dodging this class for nearly four years now, hoping to weasel my way out of taking it altogether to no avail. I started taking it with two other professors just to drop it two weeks in. Darren really made this class fun, and he was approachable and stern. Sometimes I wish not so stern, but I probably learned more “skills” in this class than I have in any other Newhouse class (maybe save Com. law).

Having said that, the workload was tremendously difficult. As a double major taking 18 credits, sometimes it was too much to handle (light right now, actually). A little more time to work on the interface project would have been nice — an extra week would have made all the difference for me.

My favorite part of this class was probably the logo design project. I had a lot of fun with that and ended up designing something that I will most likely use for a while. It allowed us to be creative with illustrator. I do wish, as I’ve said before, that we could use color on our resumes, because people going into communications should be able to mix things up and make themselves stand out with color.

My final complaint is not something instructors could rectify: some of the students were rude and disruptive during class, and it made it very difficult to learn and concentrate when people were constantly commenting on every little thing Darren said. I know it’s an issue of maturity, but it’d be nice to see a little more management over some of the students.

All in all, it’s been a great semester. Tim + Darren = Awesome.

Ask me if I still feel that way by the time I finish this interface project………

Leave a Reply

